Julia Adolphe is a composer, writer, and producer.


2/25/15 – Adolphe receives a commission to write a new viola concerto for the New York Philharmonic and Principal Viola Cynthia Phelps. This work is commissioned as part of a program to support women composers from the League of American Orchestras, EarShot, and the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation. Read the announcement from the New York Philharmonic HERE >

11/24/14 – NewMusicBox publishes Adolphe’s blog on teaching music theory in an all-male maximum security prison and how it impacted her personally and artistically. Read the four installments of “Incarceration and Musical Inspiration” in NewMusicBox HERE >


March 12, 2015 – “Footsteps” aria from Donia
Soprano Saousan Jarjour premieres the “Footsteps” aria from Julia Adolphe and Nahal Navidar’s new opera, Donia, at Golden Thread Theater’s Celebration of International Women’s Day. 8 PM at La Peña Cultural Center, Berkeley, CA

April 17, 2015 – Excerpts from Donia (working title)
A scene and aria from Adolphe’s new opera, Donia (working title), with libretto by Nahal Navidar, will premiere as part of the Thornton School of Music’s celebration of World Voice Day. The performance will feature soprano Saousan Jarjour in the title role. 12 PM in Newman Hall, Los Angeles, CA

April 17 – 19, 2015 – Magnetic Etudes
Grammy-nominated pianist Aron Kallay premieres Adolphe’s Magnetic Etudes for magnetic resonator piano. Commissioned by People Inside Electronics, Magnetic Etudes explores the sound world of a new hybrid acoustic-electronic instrument created by Andrew McPherson.
4/17 – 8 PM at the Shanahan Center, Harvey Mudd College, Claremont, CA
4/18 – 8 PM at Neighborhood Unitarian Universalist Church of Pasadena, Pasadena, CA
4/19 – Keyboard Concepts, Van Nuys, CA

May 3, 2015 – “Footsteps” aria from Donia
Soprano Saousan Jarjour performs the “Footsteps” aria from Julia Adolphe and Nahal Navidar’s new opera, Donia (working title). 6 PM in Los Angeles, CA